Could you take my picture? Cause I won’t remember

By: KT

Dec 29 2013

Tags: , , , ,

Category: Photography

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/9
Focal Length:85mm
ISO:200
Shutter:1/30 sec
Camera:NIKON D7000

About 2 months ago, i took a short weekend holiday away with my folks. We visited a really great mountainous region of Zimbabwe, called “Nyanga”. This little town is about 300km’s east of the capital city. On the evening of our arrival, i decided to go out and take some pics. As i was there admiring the view… this couple decided to take a seat just infront of me. It took me just a few seconds to realise what an amazing picture this would turn out to be.. and even now, i still cant believe what perfect timing it was. It just says so much without needing to say much at all. you know what i mean?

This picture oddly enough, to me, represents something that has hounded me for weeks now… almost driving me completely insane at the same time.  so what does it represent i hear you ask? well, you know that saying “its a great big world out there”.. well, thats exactly the thoughts i’ve been stuck with…”where exactly is my place in this big world”… “how do i get to it” and more importantly.. “where will i get the courage to overcome the obstacles to get to it”.

In exactly three days time, the year 2013 will be over. While its been a tough and hardening year for me… i certainly wont look back on it with any form of fondness. its been a horrible year in almost every single way that i can think of. On another note though, 2014 will not only be a new year for me… it marks the end of a 10 year stint that i can only describe as a roller coaster ride from hell. 10 years ago, my life took a nasty turn..and i’ve had to claw my way back from the bottom. this journey took me 10 years to complete.. and i’ve now begun the transition into the next chapter and path that lies ahead of me.

i believe this next chapter will be the most important in my life…its the “make it, or break it” chapter. this is the chapter that defines me as a human being… as the person i was always meant to be. along with who i will be, this next chapter will also define what my life will be. for a long time now, my ideas, dreams and thoughts have always been just that. this next chapter is about turning all this into a reality somehow.

Its kind of scary and intimidating in a way, as i am quite ambitious about some aspects that i want in my life. While i do believe that we are in control of our lives most of the time… there are external forces that  play a major part in everything we do too..and this is where intuition and making wise decisions come into play. Like this picture that i took, facing the world is alot easier when you have someone to share the weight with… unfortunately, i havent been blessed with that great privilege as of yet, so i know that its not going to be an easy.

i started planning for 2014 a few months ago. it all started as ideas and random thoughts.. but from the 2nd of January 2014.. its show time. i have my gut instincts to work as a compass.. i have the visions in my mind as a map… and i have perseverance and a strong will to be my “vessel”. the question is no longer: “Can i do this?”… the question is now: “will i do this?”

“If something is meant to go elsewhere, it will never come on your way, but if it is yours by destiny, from you it cannot flee.”

Leave a Reply

